I Cannot Tell a Lie

January 13, 2011 at 4:56 pm (Healthy...?)

For the most part, that’s true. I’m not good at lying. Combine this with my inability to keep my mouth shut, and it may just render my monthly health insurance payments virtually insurmountable. See, I got this phone call earlier this week from an on staff physician with the health insurance company (the one for which I filled out mountains of paperwork in an application before New Year’s). He wondered if I had time for a medical interview. Sure. Then he proceeded to ask me questions THAT I’D ALREADY ANSWERED ON MY APPLICATION and went further in depth on a few. I ask you, just how is one person supposed to remember the name of the doctor, the exact date of your visit and what may or may not have been prescribed to you when all this took place five years ago?

So now I’m not certain they’ll give me coverage. Because I may have given conflicting information. Because I can’t remember last week, let alone the past 5 years of my medical history. If they don’t deny my, they may make me spend more money than I can afford just to have health coverage. I was already balking at $600 a month. Which is what I paid in monthly rent for my first apartment in Los Angeles.

My girlfriend overheard most of the interview and after I hung up, asked, “why were you so honest?” Um, because I didn’t know that I could lie? And it didn’t occur to me to do so, either. As I pointed out to her, though, there is a real possibility that I’ll end up at the doctor for the things they asked me about in my medical history (the asthma for sure; allergies, probably; and I do get sick on occasion), and to get dumped by my insurance for failing to disclose something would be worse than what might happen because I told the truth, to the best of my ability. I think that would render me completely uninsure-able, as opposed to just most likely uninsure-able.

And why do they call and conduct a phone interview of your medical history if they make you submit the whole thing in writing, anyway? Are they looking for discrepancies so that they can deny you? Ugh. Stress. I hate this.

Leave a Reply

