I Am Tech Support

December 2, 2010 at 7:00 pm (Randomness)

I suppose because I fix things for money that people assume that I can fix anything. Including, but not limited to: plumbing issues, HVAC, electrical, and computers. Let me tell you something. I went to school to become an apprentice carpenter. That means I can layout the boundaries of a house, frame it, put a roof on it, and then maybe do some finish work. If it has to do with wood, I can probably handle it. Do those other things I listed have anything to do with wood? No. So why do people think I know how to fix them? I’m not sure.

My dad seems to think that I learned all about plumbing and electrical while in school. He keeps asking me if I can fix a leaky tub spout or figure out how many amps are coming into the electrical panel at his house. Um, I have no freaking idea.

Tuesday night, one of our chorus volunteers asked me a computer question. It went something like this:

Her: I have a computer question

Me: Yes?

Her: So a couple of days ago, my cat threw up on my laptop keyboard.

Me: …?

Her: Do you think you can fix it?

Me:…? (I swear I heard the crickets)

Her: Because I brought it with me tonight. Can you take a look at it?

Let’s get one thing perfectly clear:  I do not, nor have I ever been, a technical geek. I know that my computer goes on, I know how to install software, I can download with the best of them, but I cannot troubleshoot or fix a broken computer. And what in hell’s name made this woman think that I’d be willing to touch a keyboard with cat vomit on it?!?!? No. No way. Not even if you paid me more than the laptop’s worth.

I told her that it’s most likely a lost cause and the motherboard’s been fried. Or vomitized. She seemed really disappointed that I didn’t want to take it out of the case and look at it for her.

Leave a Reply

