I Miss the Gays

November 28, 2010 at 9:51 pm (Randomness, TGF)

The holiday weekend has been fun and it’s been nice to spend some time with my family. Other than moving my father back into the house (he’d been living in an apartment a few miles away, long story), it’s been relatively relaxed and laid back. Still, I had a bit of free time yesterday and I decided I had to go somewhere to surround myself with my other family.  Yes, I ventured to San Francisco in search of the gays.

I went to the Mission to do a little bit of shopping and just walk around. Had a beer at Blondie’s Bar & No Grill, then traveled up Folsom to another shop. Back down to the Lexington Club for another pint…by this time I’d had enough beer and no food, so I stopped at the Burger Joint for a cheeseburger & fries. Mmmm, mmmm, mmmm! Walked around a bit more to make sure the alcohol had worn off, got a large coffee and then hiked back to my car.

Just walking around and hearing the gays made me feel better. I don’t consider myself heterophobic but I’m not used to being completely surrounded by straight people for almost three days made me twitchy. Combine that with the fact that it was mostly family and for the sake of my sanity I had to drive an hour and escape. I don’t know why I got so weirded out. It’s not as if I live in a gay neighborhood in Los Angeles. Quite the contrary, it’s mostly straight immigrants. But I see my gay friends at least once a week, I work for gay people, and my girlfriend is usually around.

Ah, maybe that’s it. I miss my girlfriend. I’m so dumb sometimes. Good thing I get to go home tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

