It’s a Freezer, not an Incubator

November 9, 2010 at 9:01 am (Baby on the Brain) (, , )

I started actually charting my basal body temperature yesterday morning. Day 1 it was 96.93 degrees. My temperature is usually at least a degree less than “normal” and from what I’d read, a woman’s BBT is the lowest temp of the day, so I marked the chart and got out of bed to brush my teeth. Incidentally, the instructions say to take your temp when you’re “half asleep.” Well, the half awake part of me can’t find the button to turn on the thermometer yet, but I’m working on it.

This morning, my BBT was 96.63. The chart only goes down to 96.5. What if it keeps going down, I thought. Of course, I was still in the half asleep stage and really had to concentrate to put the little “x” on the bottom of the chart. Already it seems that the line graph on my chart is going to resemble a seismogram for a 4.5 on the richter scale rather than the nice progression that is seen on most sample charts. Time for a little research on “normal”.

Turns out I’m in no danger of making a baby popsicle just because my body runs 2 degrees cooler than everyone else’s. But it might be difficult to figure out exactly when I’m ovulating when my BBT already varies .5 degrees from day to day. And forget the recommendation that I take my temp at the same time every day. I never get up at the same time 2 days in a row. Though I suppose that consistency is going to be a factor here. Just one of the many changes, I’m sure, in my life even before I get pregnant. Next it’s stretch marks and a craving for peppermint ice cream. Oh. I already have those.

Incidentally, what did people do before Google?

Leave a Reply

