Things That Keep Me Up At Night

October 21, 2010 at 2:43 pm (Baby on the Brain) (, , , )

This is no small thing. I want to do everything I can to keep our child from being teased, bullied, or looked at as if he/she is different. Our kid will already be facing an uphill battle: 2 moms (although I know it’s much, much easier for us than it is for people who don’t live in a major metropolitan, fairly liberal area and who don’t have as many legal rights as we will right from the get-go), most likely there will be weight issues, even if we find a donor who is 5’10” and weighs 90 lbs. What really worries me? In the wake of the past month’s tragedies involving LGBTQ kids and the unbearable sorrow at the loss of those young lives this seems trivial. But this is me just in my head. I won’t be able to bring our child up in Los Angeles as a San Francisco Giants fan. I don’t think I can subject him or her to the kind of ridicule they’ll receive for wearing the black and orange instead of blue and white. Is that silly of me? I am a Giants fan. I’ve always been a Giants fan. I love my team. I don’t hate the Dodgers. But I can’t stomach the possibility that they’ll grow up loving those boys in blue more than MY team. It’s kind of ridiculous to be thinking of something seemingly so trivial when we’ve not even decided to meet with my OB/GYN.

I’m becoming one of those people for whom every thought is colored by the “baby crazies”. Blegh.

Leave a Reply

