100 Days

October 17, 2010 at 8:42 pm (Baby on the Brain, Randomness) (, , )

100 days ago I started working out with a dvd, doing cardio and weights 5-6 times a week for the first 45 days, tapering off to about 3-4 times a week since then. I also stopped eating fast food (there was one day when I had to have a bacon/egg/cheese biscuit from McD’s but that’s it) and started watching my calorie intake. I figure I now consume between 1200-1500 calories per day, mostly protein.

I started at 177 lbs. and now I’m down to 157.5 as of this morning. It’s a little faster than my goal of losing 1-1 1/2 lbs per week, but since I don’t really feel as if I’m suffering, I’ll take it. I don’t want to be fat anymore. I’m tired of being tired, outgrowing my “fat” clothes, and chafing in funny places while I’m working. I’m also finding that I’m more hormonally balanced when my diet and exercise routine is better, and I’ve had 3 consecutive “normal” periods. Which hardly ever happens.

I’m amused at the number of people who ask me, “what are you doing to lose weight?” Um, diet and exercise? There’s no quick fix for me. And I’d rather not do some scary diet, lose a heck of a lot of weight, and then have all this skin hanging around after. Ick. I figure if I’m going to have a baby, I’m going to have a hard enough time getting my body to bounce back as it is.

My goal right now is to lose another 10 lbs and keep that off for a while. Of course, my other goal is to have a baby in the next 12-18 months, so the weight thing may be pushed aside in favor of just being healthy enough to conceive and have a successful pregnancy. But I’m proud to have come this far and decided to mark this day with a post. Yay me.

Leave a Reply

